God's Word

the power of SOUND

the power of sound ||makeitmore.wordpress.com

My mom shared this short video clip on her Facebook feed several weeks ago and immediately I zapped it around my group of friends because this is the stuff I dig, scientific findings that correlate with scripture and show the why behind the ways God has continually encouraged us to live.   “Hey, man, I’m all about your good down there.  I did make everything.  I may know a little something about it.”  (Jessie’s interpretive imagination)

That is one cool video!!

For me, it was God sent.  It came during a time of great difficulty in my life.  My journal entries around that time show excerpts such as:

“I believe I receive!  Say it all day backed by verses.  SING it, PRAISE it.  We especially say it in the face of darkness when it looks like we’re not receiving.  When everything looks the worst, we say it THE LOUDEST.”

“I am right now what the Word of God says I am.  I can do right now what the Word of God says I can do.  I can have right now what the Word of God says I can have.  I believe it!  I say it OUT LOUD by faith!  I SHOUT the victory.  I don’t have the wait to see the outcome to celebrate.  I have Jesus’ Word on it.”

“But as for me, I will sing about Your power.  Each morning I will sing with joy about Your unfailing love.  For You have been my refuge, a place of safety when I am in distress.  O my Strength, to You I will sing praises, for You, O God, are my refuge, the God who shows me unfailing love.” -Psalm 59: 16-17

Around this time I had told my family that I really felt like God wanted me to step up my shouting and rejoicing. That I needed to shout like the Israelites did when they went around the walls of Jericho and those walls were literally pushed into the ground.  Walls so large that chariot races were run around the top of them.  At the sound of one God directed shout, they went straight down, into the ground, and the Israelites took the city. (see Joshua 6)

I get excited just writing this.  I’m shouting people!!!  Part of how we overcome, as Christians, is DOING the Word of God.  Living in line with how we were created to live.  THIS is how we have victory.  THIS is how we live well and whole.  No matter how silly it may seem to us at the time or how much we don’t feel like it, we just do what He says to do.  AND WE WIN.  Oh, how He wants us to win and succeed and blow away every trace of darkness causing us problems.

Then my mom shared this video.  Another perfect example of how God speaks to us and directs our steps every day. He wants my glass half empty self to REJOICE already and take some much-needed ground.   A look through my journals of the past five years shows a  recurring theme of the same message.  For crying out loud, Jessie, when are you going to listen?  I am living proof the Lord is long-suffering and He is a good Shepherd.

Party On

The number of references to singing, shouting, and rejoicing in our life are staggering throughout the scriptures. Truly, we were designed to be joyful always (1 Thessalonians 5:16) and to make a lot of noise!  What intrigues me, even more, is this:

“Adonai your God is right there with you,
as a mighty savior.
He will rejoice over you and be glad,
He will be silent in his love,
He will shout over you with joy.”- Zephaniah 3:17 CJB (Complete Jewish Bible)

Wow!  The mental image this creates is of ONE BIG CELEBRATION.  Like, party on man.  Party on.  The Lord has done great things for you.  It’s time to party.

Just Imagine

Imagine what this looks like to the kingdom of darkness.  How frustrating to see God rejoicing, singing, and shouting over His beloved family and His family answering with shouts and singing over their amazing God and the mighty acts He continually does for them.

The wicked will see this and be infuriated.
    They will grind their teeth in anger;
    they will slink away, their hopes thwarted.”-Psalm 112:10 (NLT)

Party on, people.  PARTY ON.

Inspiring Words

Then Jesus said to the disciples, “Have faith in God.  I tell you the truth, you can say to this mountain, ‘May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ and it will happen. But you must really believe it will happen and have no doubt in your heart.- Mark 11: 22-23

But may all who search for you
    be filled with joy and gladness in you.
May those who love your salvation
    repeatedly shout, “The Lord is great!” -Psalm 40:16 

Come, everyone! Clap your hands!
    Shout to God with joyful praise!
 For the Lord Most High is awesome.
    He is the great King of all the earth.
 He subdues the nations before us,
    putting our enemies beneath our feet. -Psalm 47: 1-3 

I long, yes, I faint with longing
    to enter the courts of the Lord.
With my whole being, body and soul,
    I will shout joyfully to the living God.- Psalm 84:2

Sing a new song to the Lord!
    Let the whole earth sing to the Lord!
Sing to the Lord; praise his name.
    Each day proclaim the good news that he saves.
 Publish his glorious deeds among the nations.
    Tell everyone about the amazing things he does.- Psalm 96: 1-3

All scripture references in inspiring words taken from the New Living Translation Bible.

Talk to Me:  Are you a nut about scientific findings or biblical studies as I am?  Do you find relevancy in the scriptures?  Do you have a story of the power of sound to share?

2 thoughts on “the power of SOUND

  1. I love these sorts of videos!
    I also believe that there are sounds that release Heaven on Earth …
    Here is a testimony of how the sound of worship healed a friend who had suffered 5 years with chronic fatigue. She has since written a book about her journey. https://godtestimonies.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/the-sound-of-healing-god-is-good/
    Our words are just sound … so when we pray and decree in fact we are just releasing sound … it has meaning to us, but not to those that do not speak the language.
    I play the violin prophetically and I believe that the playing changes atmospheres …
    God creates with sound …
    Life and death are in the power of the tongue …
    God created sound rocks …
    Blessings Jessie!
    God is Good!

    Like

    1. I remember when you first posted that testimony!!!! It’s exciting how God will move and touch us. It’s thrilling beyond words to see someone walk whole after a physical battle. Yes, very good point. Our words are sounds!! I love when you visit and pour into us. We have a man who plays violin occasionally at our church. It is like you said….it changes the atmosphere when he plays. It is special to behold and experience. Blessings to you as well!!!!! Thank you for commenting and sticking around even though I am a sporadic sort online. 🙂 Blessings to you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

